• Printer Friendly Version
  • Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
  • PDF
International, Show Events

Announcing the Winners of the Carpet Design Awards 2024

For the nineteenth time, designers and carpet makers were honored with the prestigious Carpet Design Awards during DOMOTEX. A top-class jury of experts from the design and carpet industry selected the winners.

Winners on stage at the 2024 Carpet Design Awards at DOMOTEX
The winners of the Carpet Design Awards 2024 take to the stage to celebrate.

HANNOVER, Germany --  The eight winners were announced during the award ceremony on the second day of the fair, Jan. 12, 2024. The prestigious awards – presented in collaboration with the trade magazines COVER and HALI – celebrate contemporary carpet design and have been reflecting the innovations and trends in the industry for more than 15 years.

The award winners are considered exceptional examples in the industry that combine design, quality and craftmanship to a special degree. In addition to the selection criteria of design and design concept, material, execution, structure and quality, the jury also paid attention to the aspects of sustainability and branding. “This year the Carpet Design Awards really struck a chord, illustrating the importance of innovation, materiality and craftsmanship in design on a global footing“, said Naomi Scott Dunne, Interior Designer, Trend Forecaster and this year's jury member.

All CDA-finalist carpets will be on display in Hall 3 Stand until the last day of DOMOTEX.

EUCA Award for special achievements in the carpet industry

During the Carpet Design Awards, the European Carpet Importers Association announced the winner of the EUCA Award for the seventeenth time. Since 2007, this award honours personalities in the European carpet industry for outstanding achievements and thus ultimately expresses the gratitude of the entire industry. Wieland Neuberth this year's winner of the EUCA Award and owner of CREATION ROESNER, accepted the award for his lifetime achievements personally on site.

And the winners are:

Category 1: Best Studio Artist Design
Original small scale production design from an artist or designer

Maschera, Dena Lawrence | Perth (AU)

Category 2: Best Modern Design Superior
Original contemporary designs showing optimum use of materials

1923 Runner (Prototype), Christopher Farr Editions| London (UK)

Category 3: Best Modern Design Deluxe
Original contemporary design showing optimum use of materials

The Raw Earth (Stefan Heyer), Knots Rugs Ltd | London (UK)

Category 4: Best Transitional Design 
A new rug that interprets traditional designs for a contemporary audience

Jeevan Manchaha, Jaipur Rugs | Jaipur (IN)

Category 5: Best Flatweave Design
Original rug design demonstrating the flatweave technique

Illuminata, Edelgrund GmbH | Hamburg (DE)

Category 6: Best Collection
Contemporary Traditional or Transitional design collections demonstrating a common theme

Verso - Gill Thorpe x FLOOR_STORY, FLOOR_STORY | London (UK)

Category 7: Best Interior
A high-end customization project or rug installation represented by high-quality images

Verso - Gill Thorpe x FLOOR_STORY, FLOOR_STORY | London (UK), Pictured above

Category 8: Sustainability Award
A rug that is produced with a low carbon footprint or/and that incorporates ethical practices

Forest, Gushka | Hutsulshchyna (UA)

trans-ocean ad spot hri rugs